Best Care Patient Advocacy

Communication. Clarity. Peace of Mind.

Healthcare Advocacy Council of North Carolina Call to Action

The Healthcare Advocacy Council of North Carolina is calling immediate attention to the
negative impact the COVID-19 pandemic is having on seniors in North Carolina and points of
action that need to be urgently implemented across our state.

Mandated COVID virus lock-downs and quarantines went into place on March 10 without the
checks and balances needed between patients, families, communities and governing agencies.
Regulatory requirements and third party oversight previously in place have been relaxed under
North Carolina executive orders, with the intention of giving facilities the ability to work
effectively to control outbreaks in their communities. The result is restriction of any visitation
by ombudsmen, advocates, family or friends and has left seniors isolated and without an
outside voice.

Our older citizens are now in jeopardy not just because of the virus but due to the extreme
isolation. Seniors with less access and understanding of video communication are
experiencing accelerated cognitive decline, increasing depression, intense grief and declining
will to live.

We are calling on our state and federal officials, to prioritize our seniors for PPE, testing and
federal financial support over other commercial activities. We request that lawmakers take
immediate action to ensure congregant resident rights are restored, essential workers are
supplied with proper PPE, residents and staff are tested and communities restore surveillance
and investigation by county ombudsmen.

Signed,
Healthcare Advocacy Council of North Carolina

https://www.healthcareadvocatesnc.com

Andrea Cudd Alemanni
Patient Navigation Team LLC
andrea@patientnavteam.com
patientnavteam.com
336-485-5427

Lana Benton RN, BSN
RN Patient Advocates of NC, LLC
rnpanc@gmail.com
mypersonalrn.com
833-876-3084

Andrea Gill, RN, BSN, BCPA
Carolina Patient Advocates, PLLC
agill@carolinapatientadvocates.com
carolinapatientadvocates.com
704-324-3582

Diane Halloran, RN, MPH
Everybody Needs A Nurse
yournurse@everybodyneedsanurse.com
everybodyneedsanurse.com
919-606-1819

Jennifer Halloran, PhD
Everybody Needs A Nurse
jhalloran@everybodyneedsanurse.com
everybodyneedsanurse.com
919-606-1819

Cindy Hostetler, RN, MSN, BCPA
Care Weavers, LLC
cindy@careweavers.com
careweavers.com
704-577-2096

Amanda McGuire Johnson, MSN, ANP
McGuire Health Advocates, PLLC
amanda@mcguirehealth.com
mcguirehealth.com
828-559-1591

Joan Moss RN, MSN
HealthCLEAR for You, PLLC
joan@healthclearforyou.com
healthclearforyou.com
919-710-8520

Thomas E. Nagle Jr., RN, MSN, MHA
Carolina Patient Advocates, PLLC
tom.nagle@carolinapatientadvocates.com
carolinapatientadvocates.com
336-793-8380

Elizabeth Pruett, RN, BSN, BCPA
Care Weavers, LLC
elizabeth@careweavers.com
careweavers.com
704-577-2096

Kimberly Rowell, RN, CCM, BCPA
Peak Patient Advocacy & Consulting,
RN@PeakPatientAdvocacy.com
PeakPatientAdvocacy.com
828-354-3700

Nancy Ruffner, BCPA
NAVIGATE NC, LLC
nancy@navigatenc.com
navigatenc.com
919-628-4428

Karen Sanders, MSN,RN,AHN-BC,HWNC-BC
RN Patient Advocacy NC, PLLC
rnpatientadvoacync.com
kcsanderella@gmail.com
828-778-8882

Cheryl Scharoun, RN BSN, BCPA
Babyboom Health
Babyboomhealth@gmail.com
babyboomhealth.com
919-622-0840

Ann Thomas, BA, BCPA
Best Care Patient Advocacy
ann@bestcarepa.com
bestcarepatientadvocacy.com
828-771-2262

David Whitley, BSRT, CRT, RRT, BCPA
Whitley Patient Advocates
dwhitley@whitleyptadvocates.com
www.whitleyptadvocates.com
252-269-7073

Marilyn Whitley, MSN, RN, NE-BC, BCPA
Whitley Patient Advocates
mwhitley@whitleyptadvocates.com
www.whitleyptadvocates.com
252-269-7073